header logo
facebook
twitter
google+
youtube
ViewMain Menu
6th Grade Science
Assignments & Announcements
 Please re-stock on pens and pencils over the holiday break!
 
MIDTERM = Tues Dec 19th
 
Don't forget... Mon, Dec 18th is the LAST Day to turn in 2nd quarter extra credit!
 
Fri Dec 15 -  QUIZ on C8 Lesson 2...even though we had a snow day Dec 14!
 
Due Wed Dec 13 -  C8 Lesson 2 Review & Renforce worksheet 
 
Mon Dec 11- QUIZ on C8 Lesson 1
 
Due Fri Dec 8 - C8 Lesson 1 Review & Renforce worksheet
 
Due Thurs Dec 7 -  Physical or Chmical Property worksheet
 
Mon Dec 4 - 100 point test on Chapter 4
 
Due Thurs Nov 30 - C4 Study Guide (fill in) and Chapter Review & Benchmark Practice P167-169 (do not do #5 on P167)
 
Wed Nov 29 - QUIZ on C4 Lesson 4
 
Due Tues Nov 28 - Chapter 4 vocabulary packet (all) and Lesson 4 Review & Reinforce worksheet (received Nov 21)
 
Tues Nov 21 - QUIZ on C4 Lesson 3
 
Due Mon Nov 20 - C4 Lesson 3 Review & Reinforce worksheet
 
Thurs Nov 16 - QUIZ on C4 Lesson 2
 
Due Mon Nov 13 - C4 Lesson 2 Enrich worksheet
 
Due Fri, Nov 10 - C4 Lesson 2 Review & Reinforce ... and Lesson 2 Quizlet (make sure you are logged in)
 
Wed Nov 8 - QUIZ on C4 Lesson 1 
 
Due Mon Nov 6 -  C4 Lesson 1 Review & Reinforce worksheet
 
Wed, Nov 1 - Test on Chapter 3 (lessons 1-6) 
 
Monday, Oct 30 - Chapter Review & Benchmark Practice P132, P133 (do not do #14), P134 (do not do #22-26), P135 (do not do #6)
 
Friday, Oct 27 - students will have an assessment where they travel to different stations and based on written clues and rock samples will need to answer questions - informtaiton learned in lessons 3,4,5 and 6 - application based questions.
 
Due Thurs Oct 26 - Chapter 3 Study Guide
 
Due Tues, Oct 24 - Chapter 3 Vocabulary packet.  (Students do not need to do Lesson 7 on Fossil Fuels.) and C3 Lesson 6 Review & Reinforce worksheet (there will not be quiz on lesson 6 - this information will just be part of the chapter test)
 
Second Grading Quarter Begins Monday, October 23! 
 
Quarterly Extra Credit
2nd Quarter Extra Credit: If interested in extra credit for the second grading quarter... Read Chapter 5 in your textbook. This chapter covers the topic of Erosion and Deposition. Some of the content may be review from earlier grades, or are concepts that will be directly or indirectly associated with other chapters/units this year. Under 6th grade science is a file where you will find the extra credit assignments. There will be a Review and Reinforce worksheet as well as a Quiz for each lesson. Each Lesson (review & reinforce and quiz) is worth up to 5 points. You may choose up to 2 of the 5 available lessons. You may only earn up to 10 extra credit points this quarter!
Turn these in no later than Monday, December 18th.
General Information

Any student interested in registering and participating in the 2018 Kiwais STEM Fair...the link is on the right side of this web page.  The Registration Deadline is Friday, December 8, 2017 and the STEM Fair date is Saturday, January 27,2018.  See Mrs. Samsa with any questions.  Extra Credit for the 3rd grading quarter will be given to students who participate.

Science Grades are weighted.
70% is based on quiz and tests and 30% = homework/classwork/labs.
 
Students... I strongly recommend visiting our Google Classroom site. There are many helpful videos, links and Quizlets to help you understand lessons, review and prepare for quizzes and tests. At times you will also have to use this site for some assignments. Students can download the App or go to www.Classroom.Google.com and enter their school email and passord to access our class's page.
 
Students... I would highly recommend downloading the apps: Google Classroom, Remind, GMail (for school email account), Chrome and Quizlet to your smart phones, ipods, tablets etc... especially if you don't have access to a computer at home. These can be very helpful in reviewing materials covered in class and preparing for quizzes and tests!

· S   Students...Please make sure you have headphones at school and available to use in class.

 
Students and/or Parents:
Sign up for REMIND...
Before big chapter tests or projects I will send a mass text and/or email to all students/parents who sign up. Directions are under Downloads/Links to the right.
footer logo
© 2017. West Geauga Local Schools. All Rights Reserved.
Education Software created by eSchoolView
8615 Cedar Road, Chesterland, OH 44026
Phone: (440) 729-5900 | Fax: (440) 729-5939
google maps
View text-based website